Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fault2SHA Learning Series – Creeping Faults and Earthquake Hazard by Ruth Harris

November 8 @ 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Creeping Faults and Earthquake Hazard

Ruth Harris

Senior Scientist, United States Geological Survey’s Earthquake Science Centre

Monday 8th November 2021 17:00 CET (16:00 UK, 17:00 Italy/France, 08:00 Pacific time)

Creeping faults in active tectonic continental regions are relatively rare, but more than a dozen are documented to creep for long periods of time, not just near Earth’s surface, but also deeper in the crust. Whether or not these creeping faults behave similarly to locked faults and allow large ruptures to nucleate and propagate has implications for seismic hazard assessment.

In this talk I will present work comparing characteristics of earthquakes on creeping faults and earthquakes on locked faults, along with simulations of scenario large earthquakes on high-hazard creeping faults in the San Francisco Bay region of California.

Zoom link

Youtube recording

 

0

Details

Date:
November 8
Time:
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Venue

zoom

Organiser

Joanna Faure Walker