Loading Events

« All Events

Fault2SHA Learning Series – Measuring fault displacements using GNSS by Yehuda Bock

June 14 @ 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Measuring fault displacements using GNSS

Yehuda Bock

Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, California

Monday 14th June 2021 17:00 Central European Time (09:00 Pacific Time, 17:00 UK, 18:00 Italy/France)

I discuss the use of GNSS observations for modeling fault motions. The crustal deformation cycle consists of several phases including coseismic, postseismic and interseismic phases that are overlain by transient motions at different spatial and temporal scales. I provide an overview of these processes and how they contribute to and complicate fault slip models. Also, I describe the GNSS observations and how they are analyzed for surface motions and the steps required to optimally estimate precise and robust station displacements, free of non-physical artifacts.

Zoom Link will become available a few days before

0

Details

Date:
June 14
Time:
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Venue

zoom

Organiser

Joanna Faure Walker

Calendar powered by The Events Calendar